A Memory from my Grandpa’

13 Jun

Here is a tangible and wonderful memory i am to keep from my Grandpa’ who had his entire life revolving around all kinds of cameras.. this is one of them, which my uncle had kept aside for me. My mother had kept it until she would feel that it would be the right moment to give it to me. The other day, while we had a photographer friend over for dinner, i happened to mentioned this very camera to him, explaining how my grandpa showed it to me one day, with shivering hands and bright eyes. So my mother got up and went up claiming she had to go look for something.. when she came back, holding the camera in her hand, she gave  it to me saying “is this the one you are talking about?“.. How wonderful.

The camera shoots on glass pates and film both. I will try to load it and shoot with it some day. Paris sounds like a good place to try all this out. Old lense for a new life.

3 Responses to “A Memory from my Grandpa’”

  1. khushrav June 14, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    hey sophia

    saw that lovely old camera and felt like writing a mail.

    I just wanted to say that it is good and admirable that you can shift careers when times are difficult. I obviously do not know the troubles involved, but it seems to me that you have taken to it quite well and are also very, very excited (your quote from Shakespeare: “We are the stuff dreams are made on” / just lovely).

    Well good luck in your new life and new way.

    take care
    dragon

  2. paristempslibre June 16, 2010 at 8:34 am #

    sublime photo! j’adore ton fond d’ecran aussi!

  3. sophie poppins June 16, 2010 at 11:15 am #

    merci

Leave a Reply

